The Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada

The Royal College is a national, professional association established in 1929 by a special Act of Parliament to oversee postgraduate medical education. It ensures that the training and evaluation of medical and surgical specialists attain the highest standards. The Royal College recognizes 79 disciplines, granting Fellowships in 29 specialties, 34 subspecialties, three special programs and 13 Areas of Focused Competence (AFC-diplomas).

The Royal College requires Fellows worldwide to maintain their competence throughout their careers; it acts and speaks out in support of the most appropriate context for the practice of specialty care and the best patient care. The Royal College accredits the residency programs at 17 universities across Canada and also accredits the learning activities that physicians pursue in their continuing professional development programs. The Royal College verifies that a physician has met all the requirements necessary for Royal College certification.

Areas of collaboration with RDoC may vary but typically include:

  • Royal College Accreditation Committee
  • Royal College Accreditation Process Advisory Committee (APAC)
  • Royal College Area of Focused Competency (AFC) Accreditation Committee
  • Royal College Assessment Committee
  • Royal College CanMEDS Consortium
  • Royal College CanMEDS for Practice Working Group
  • Royal College Committee on Specialties (COS)
  • Royal College Competency-based CPD National Advisory Committee
  • Royal College Council
  • Royal College Credentials Committee (CC)
  • Royal College Data Stewardship Committee
  • Royal College Expert Working Group on Physician Health
  • Royal College Fatigue Risk Management Accreditation Standards Working Group
  • Royal College Fatigue Risk Management Project Task Force
  • Royal College Fellowship Affairs Committee (FAC)
  • Royal College Fellowship Affairs Summit Planning Committee
  • Royal College Health and Public Policy Committee (HPPC)
  • Royal College International Conference on Residency Education (ICRE) Program Advisory Board
  • Royal College Residency Accreditation Committee
  • Royal College Physician Wellness Advisory Group
  • Royal College Practice-based Assessment Working Group
  • Royal College Professional Learning and Development Committee (PLDC)
  • Royal College Regional Advisory Committees (RACs)
  • Royal College Resident Duty Hours National Steering Committee
  • Royal College Scopes of Practice Working Group
  • Royal College Simulation Accreditation Committee
  • Royal College Specialty Education Committee