Resident Doctors of Canada Announces 2018/19 Board of Directors

OTTAWA – Resident Doctors of Canada (RDoC) today announced the election of its 2018/19 Board of Directors. The 19-member Board represents more than 10,000 resident physicians in British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, the Maritime Provinces and Newfoundland and Labrador.

Dr. Michael Arget, who served as Vice President in 2017/18, was elected President of this year’s Board. “I am honoured to serve as President of Resident Doctors of Canada for what I know will be an exciting year. I am particularly excited about working with my colleagues to oversee the development of a new three-year Strategic Plan for 2018-2020,” said Arget.

Irving Gold, RDoC’s Executive Director, said, “I am very much looking forward to working with our 14 new directors and 5 returning directors this year. I am confident it will be another year of growth for the organization and effective advocacy on behalf of our membership.”

The Board’s new directors for 2018/19 are:

  • Dr. Tehmina Ahmad
  • Dr. Aditi Amin
  • Dr. Elise Azzi
  • Dr. Ali Damji
  • Dr. Deepak Dinakaran
  • Dr. Alana Fleet, Board Chair & Corporate Secretary
  • Dr. Marissa LeBlanc
  • Dr. Aarun Leekha
  • Dr. Jordyn Lerner
  • Dr. Bethany Ostrowerka
  • Dr. Kristina Roche
  • Dr. Seyara Shwetz
  • Dr. Emily Stewart, Vice President
  • Dr. Mellissa Ward

The following directors have returned for 2018/19:

  • Dr. Michael Arget, President
  • Dr. David Kim
  • Dr. Bryce Durafourt, Treasurer
  • Dr. Melanie Bechard, Past President
  • Dr. Leo Fares

For additional information on current Board Members, please visit the Resident Doctors of Canada website.

Media Contact
Todd Coopee
Manager, Communications & Operations
613-234-6448 x223

About Resident Doctors of Canada
Resident Doctors of Canada (RDoC) represents over 10,000 resident doctors across Canada. Established in 1972, we are a not-for-profit organization providing a unified, national voice for our membership. RDoC collaborates with other national health organizations to foster excellence in training, wellness, and patient care.