Two resident doctors, an emergency medicine physician, a pediatrician, and a program administrator are being honoured for their contributions to improving the lives of resident doctors in Canada.

The RDoC Puddester Award for Resident Wellness recognizes individuals who work to improve the wellness of residents across Canada.

Dr. Jonathan Dean is a second-year internal medicine subspecialty fellow, completing his fifth year of training in General Internal Medicine at the University of Saskatchewan. He is viewed by his fellow resident doctors as a compassionate and empathetic colleague. As Vice-President, then President of Resident Doctors of Saskatchewan, and as RDoC Wellness Committee Co-Chair, Dr. Dean has been a leading voice in promoting positive workplace environment and raising awareness of medical learner burnout. He has advocated for positive changes in Saskatchewan’s residency programs such as fair moonlighting policies, examination policies, and safe resident assessment with the implementation of Competence by Design. In recognition for his leadership, Dr. Dean has received several awards from the University of Saskatchewan’s Department of Medicine, including the Dr. David Cotton Junior Professionalism Award and the Dr. T. Wilson Spirit Award.

Dr. Jonathan Dellavedova is a pediatrician in Sault Ste Marie, Ontario and an Assistant Professor in the Clinical Science Division of the Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM). As the Wellness Lead Clinician for the NOSM Post-graduate Medical Education department, Dr. Dellavedova coordinates the Postgraduate Education Wellness Program, and represents the wellness interests of all NOSM residents and its programs. His initiatives include the creation of the “NOSM Resident Support Network” and the NOSM Well app. His resident colleagues speak highly of his open and innovative personality and his compassion for his colleagues. Dr. Dellavedova has long been an active voice in the medical education community, serving as President of the Canadian Federation of Medical Students and the Professional Association of Residents of Ontario, and as a multi-year member of RDoC’s Board of Directors. He has previously been recognized for his efforts by the Ontario Medical Association and the St. Joseph’s Healthcare Medical Staff Association.

The RDoC Mikhael Award for Medical Education honours individuals who have contributed to improving undergraduate and postgraduate medical education in Canada.

Dr. Warren Cheung is the Associate Director of Education Innovation, Director of Assessment, RCPSC Competence Committee Chair and an Assistant Professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Ottawa. He was appointed as a Senior Clinician Investigator with the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute in 2016 and held a University of Ottawa Junior Clinical Research Chair in Medical Education from 2016 to 2019. Dr. Cheung has played an integral role in the transition of the Emergency Medicine residency to the Competence by Design model, focusing his efforts on improving the quality of trainee assessments through the development of new learner-centered evaluation tools. Moreover, Dr. Cheung is described by his resident colleagues as a “hard working, patient, intelligent, compassionate, role model and leader”, and is a much sought-after teacher and mentor.

Dr. Bruce Fage is a PGY-5 resident doctor in Psychiatry at the University of Toronto. He is known by his colleagues as an excellent teacher and mentor who always seeks creative ways to ensure high-quality education for residents and medical students. Dr. Fage is a founding member of UpReach, a novel group mentorship program for residents, and of PsychEd, a noted medical education podcast. He has also trained as a Clinical Scientist, studying the development and implementation of a Competency Based Medical Education (CBME) curriculum for postgraduate training in his program. Dr. Fage has a wealth of leadership experience at the local, provincial, and national levels, including having served as the President of the Professional Association of Residents of Ontario, Chair of the Section of Residents for the Ontario Medical Association, and as a member of the RDoC Board of Directors.

The RDoC Ross Award for Service to Resident Doctors recognizes non-physician staff members who have contributed to the enrichment of resident life in Canada.

Ms. Charlène Fouqueray is the program administrator for the Public Health and Preventive Medicine Program at the University of Calgary. She is described by a resident doctor in her program as “the cheerful solid rock our program leans on.” In addition to being a highly capable administrator, Ms. Fouqueray is a renowned problem-solver, even advocating for residents with the Post-graduate Medical Education Office or the Office of Graduate Studies if necessary. Ms. Fouqueray also ensures a welcoming and supportive environment by taking a personal interest in her residents and their wellness and by organizing social events for the program. Ms. Fouqueray is known as a champion for diversity and equity, important values in a program with residents from diverse backgrounds, ages, and families.