Two resident doctors, a cardiologist, a radiologist, and a program administrator are being honoured for their contributions to improving the lives of resident doctors in Canada.

The RDoC Puddester Award for Resident Wellness recognizes individuals who work to improve the wellness of residents across Canada. This year’s award recognizes two individuals from the University of Toronto.

Dr. Ahmed Taher is a PGY-4 resident doctor in Emergency Medicine at the University of Toronto. Dr. Taher has served as co-Chief Resident of his program, helping to ensure protected time for residents to build resilience through discussions of successes and challenges in residency. He has also served as President of the Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians’ Resident Section and Chair of their National Working Group on Resident Wellness, leading initiatives such as: the development of CAEP’s national resident wellness position statement, the administration of a national wellness research survey amongst emergency medicine residents, and the implementation of the first national emergency medicine resident wellness week. For his efforts, he was previously recognized with the 2017 CAEP FRCP Resident Leadership Award.

Dr. Eric Bartlett is the Program Director of the Diagnostic Radiology Program at the University of Toronto. Dr. Bartlett has consistently exceeded expectations as Program Director and is responsible for facilitating numerous enhancements within the program, including: adoption of a 21st century night float call model (the first such model to be employed in a Canadian radiology residency program), a completely re-envisioned physics and academic curriculum, establishment of a strong social and resident wellness programme, development of a radiology program scheduling and evaluation app, and overseeing the implementation of competency based medical education. Dr. Bartlett is the recipient of multiple teaching awards from the University of Toronto Faculty of Medicine’s Department of Medical Imaging.

The RDoC Mikhael Award for Medical Education honours individuals who have contributed to improving undergraduate and postgraduate medical education in Canada.

Dr. Mary Beth Bissell is a Chief Resident in the Radiology program at Memorial University, and the first resident from Newfoundland to receive an RDoC Award. Dr. Bissell has played a lead role in the development and assessment of the national online emergency radiology curriculum for PGY-1 radiology residents. She has a reputation amongst her peers as a knowledgeable and skilled teacher and a dedicated researcher, resulting a number of awards in recognition of her work, including the Outstanding Resident Award from the medical students at Memorial University and two Radiology Resident Teaching Awards. Dr. Bissell represents her fellow radiology residents at the Professional Association of Residents of Newfoundland and Labrador and the Canadian Association of Radiologists.

Dr. Michael Froeschl is the Program Director of the Cardiology Residency Training Program and a Staff Interventional Cardiologist at the University of Ottawa Heart Institute. Dr. Froeschl is known as an exceptional program director who is extremely committed to education and resident well-being. He has made continual efforts as program director to improve the resident experience, including revising the program’s approach to research, securing guaranteed funding for an additional year of cardiology training for residents interested in pursuing a career in research, and helping residents reach their career goals by ensuring their participation in a formal mentoring program. Dr. Froeschl has been recognized with a number of awards from the University of Ottawa, the Professional Association of Residents of Ontario, and the Canadian Cardiovascular Society, and is a recipient of the Diamond Jubilee Medal.

The RDoC Ross Award for Service to Resident Doctors recognizes non-physician staff members who have contributed to the enrichment of resident life in Canada.

Ms. Jennifer Collins is the Academic Program Administrator at the Department of Radiology at Memorial University. Ms Collins is known for her dedication to innovation in program administration, including the development of educational videos and streamlining the implementation of online end rotation exams and delivery of online lectures through an online learning management system. Ms. Collins is also known as a dedicated and enthusiastic advocate, who takes an active interest in the wellbeing of the residents in her program, including the implementation of ergonomic multi-user workstations.