The Royal College is a national, professional association established in 1929 by a special Act of Parliament to oversee postgraduate medical education. It ensures that the training and evaluation of medical and surgical specialists attain the highest standards. The Royal College recognizes 79 disciplines, granting Fellowships in 29 specialties, 34 subspecialties, three special programs and 13 Areas of Focused Competence (AFC-diplomas).

The Royal College requires Fellows worldwide to maintain their competence throughout their careers; it acts and speaks out in support of the most appropriate context for the practice of specialty care and the best patient care. The Royal College accredits the residency programs at 17 universities across Canada and also accredits the learning activities that physicians pursue in their continuing professional development programs. The Royal College verifies that a physician has met all the requirements necessary for Royal College certification.

Areas of collaboration with RDoC may vary but typically include:

  • Accreditation Process Advisory Committee (APAC)
  • Accreditation Standards Development Working Group: Continuous Improvement
  • Accreditation Standards Development Working Groups: Education Program
  • Accreditation Standards Development Working Groups: Learners, Teachers, and Administrative Personnel
  • Accreditation Standards Development Working Groups: Resources
  • Accreditation Standards Integration Committee
  • Conjoint Task Force on Resident Input into the Accreditation Process
  • Royal College Accreditation Committee
  • Royal College Assessment Committee
  • Royal College CanMEDS Consortium
  • Royal College CanMEDS for Practice Working Group
  • Royal College Committee on Specialties (COS)
  • Royal College Competency-based CPD National Advisory Committee
  • Royal College Council
  • Royal College Credentials Committee (CC)
  • Royal College Data Stewardship Committee
  • Royal College Expert Working Group on Physician Health
  • Royal College Fellowship Affairs Committee (FAC)
  • Royal College Fellowship Affairs Summit Planning Committee
  • Royal College Health and Public Policy Committee (HPPC)
  • Royal College International Conference on Residency Education (ICRE) Program Advisory Board
  • Royal College National Steering Committee on Resident Duty Hours
  • Royal College Residency Accreditation Committee
  • Royal College Practice-based Assessment Working Group
  • Royal College Professional Learning and Development Committee (PLDC)
  • Royal College Regional Advisory Committees (RACs)
  • Royal College Resident Duty Hours National Steering Committee
  • Royal College Simulation Accreditation Committee
  • Royal College Specialty Education Committee